top of page
  • Cristina MacKenzie

Bonus Bites: "Crispeddi Cu Brocculu" (Cauliflower Fritters)

Updated: Aug 12, 2021

Ciao Tutti!

Before we shift to Northern Italian cuisine next week, I wanted to share one more of my favourite Sicilian recipes with you - "cauliflower fritters" or "crispeddi cu brocculu" as my Nonna would call them. An incredibly simple dish, but make the perfect appetizer or snack to any dinner party or wine night (and they're kind of healthy!) I promise they will not disappoint and your guests will be begging for you to make them again the next time they come over.


I have been so eager to learn how to make these. Every time someone new comes over, my mom and Nonna always make these and they are a huge hit!


Tip: These are best eaten hot right out of the pan, however my mom enjoys them cold the next day as well.

The recipe I am sharing with you is my mom and Nonna's recipe, but you can customize it however you would like. Sometimes I like to dip these in a chipotle or garlic aioli, but that's not the traditional way.


Ingredienti

  • 2 cups cooked cauliflower florets (about 1/2 a head)

  • 2 cups of white unbleached flour

  • 1 tbsp of diced red onion

  • 1 tsp of salt

  • dash of pepper

  • 1-1/4 cup of water

  • grapeseed oil


Ricetta


Start by cutting your cauliflower head into bite-size florets and boil them under tender. Drain and set aside to cool.


In a large bowl, add flour, salt, red onion, and pepper. Slowly add in the water a little at a time, using a fork to combine. Mix well. It should have a pancake batter consistency.

Add in the cauliflower florets and toss to coat them in the batter.



Heat up an inch of grapeseed oil in a large skillet on high heat and wait for it to get hot. Once hot, take a spoonful of batter and carefully place it into the oil.* Fry until golden brown and transfer to a plated lined with paper towel to absorb any excess oil. Lightly sprinkle the fritters with salt while they're still hot.


Continue until all the batter is gone.


*Side Note: I lightly press down to flatten the mixture.


Look at that sizzle! I use 2 forks to flip them in the oil, but use whatever you feel comfortable with.


And that's it! A very simple recipe and dish, but SO delicious!


GET IN TOUCH:

Let me know if you try these recipes and how you enjoy them. Or, if you have your own twist on these classic Sicilian dishes, leave a comment below, and I will be sure to try them!


And be sure to send me pictures of you making these recipes on Instagram @ciao.tuttii or Twitter @crismackenziee :)




21 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page